How to revert to older Snapchat and turn off automatic updates on iPhone


If you do also not love the new SnapChat 2018 updates and wants to get rid of latest version of Snapchat and the the auto update of SnapChat like many  other SnapChat users. There’s an online petition to ‘Make Snapchat great again’ and more than 85000 users have already signed in the petition to highlight issue with latest snapchat. Some user have also been caught out by the iOS automatic update feature, running them into new SnapChat app forcefully to use.



The new Snapchat is really a pain for many users as it seems to screw up the stories are shown, and has lumped all chats into one messy ‘friends’ page. There are new fonts and emojis added in new release but overall users are unhappy with the update.

How to revert to old Snapchat app in iPhone:


Solution: Reload the app from iTunes backup:
-First, delete the latest Snapchat app from your iPhone by holding on the icon until its icon starts shaking around. Now hit the X in the top left-hand corner of this icon.
-Now connect your iPhone to your computer and open iTunes.
-Do not sync your iPhone for now –> in the dropdown menu in iTunes ->Find Snapchat in iTunes’ Apps list then hit Install and sync your device. The version you have backed up will now copy to your iPhone.

However once rolled back to earlier version of SnapChat users report that the SnapChat app will auto update to latest version again after sometimes. This is quite irritating. To fix this you can turn off auto updates on your iPhone:

In case you are also looking to disable auto update of Snapchat on iPhone and other iOS devices:
Please follow following steps to turn off automatic app updates on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch:
- Open the Settings ->iTunes & App Store-> Under Automatic Downloads, turn off the toggle next to Updates.

Back To Top